The Indonesian Spirit

One year ago, my wife and I left for beautiful Bali. I fell in love with the island, its people and its food from the moment we arrived (which, admittedly, was after a 9-hour delay in Dubai) and have secretly been plotting our return ever since. To mark the occasion (any excuse will do, though), I treated Mrs Pomegranate to an Indonesian dinner of satay ayam lilit + peanut sauce (starter), empal goreng, rice and sambal terasi. The banana leaf creations could do with some improvement, but I’ll pick up that skill when we go back, right? 😉

7 Comments Add yours

  1. ggstratton says:

    I would love to try cooking with banana leaves. May have to try growing some. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. flandriaman says:

    I used to think they were for presentation purposes only, but they make great steaming parcels as well. 😉 Some Asian supermarkets sell them (well, over here in Belgium, at least), so you may want to try your luck there.

    I’d love to grow some too, but thanks to the -ahum- lovely climate around these parts, I think I’d just end up with a few banana plant stumps. :-p

    Like

  3. Meg says:

    Did you climb mount batur? I’ve just finished travelling Bali and Lombok you should check out my blog? I can’t deny I am a classic nasi goreng lover

    Liked by 1 person

    1. flandriaman says:

      Saw it, obviously, but didn’t climb it. Thinking of hiking up Mt Bromo next year, though. 😉 Will definitely have a look at your blog! We passed Lombok on our way to Gili Air and it looked stunning. (There’s loads of pics of our trip on my other blog, theoriginalaetherian.wordpress.com, btw, in case you’re interested. 😉 ).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Meg says:

        I will check it out and Lombok was stunning !

        Like

  4. Kartika Dewi says:

    Looks so yummy! Everything tasted better with some of that banana leaf feel to it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. flandriaman says:

      It adds to the appeal, no argument there! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

