Mighty Spice Express: Crab & Spring Onion Pancakes (feat. the frying pan mishap)

Before & After: I like crab. Mrs Pomegranate loves pancakes. In other words, this looked like a match made in heaven! Everything went smoothly, until I got to the actual pancake stage, when the recipe called for a “large frying pan”. There I was, looking at my batter, having an internal struggle:

– He means a medium frying pan, surely?
– Stop doubting John, you dimwit.
– But I–
– John always knows best. Now pick up the large pan.
– I’m not–
– PICK UP THE LARGE PAN.

So I picked up my large frying pan.

LOOK AT WHAT YOU MADE ME DO, JOHN.

As if that wasn’t bad enough, one of the pancakes decided to add to my misery by clinging together, resulting in this:

IMG_7432 (Small)

LOOK AT IT, JOHN.

Needless to say, the finished result lacked… um… a certain appeal. Any appeal.

IMG_7433 (Small)

IT LOOKED LIKE A VOMIT PANCAKE. WITH GREEN BITS.

The taste was OK. Next time I’d add the oyster sauce to the crab mixture. And use a medium frying pan.

A MEDIUM FRYING PAN, JOHN. :p


Mrs Pomegranat’s verdict: 3/5 (“Far too much coriander.”)

3 penguin rating

Herr Volt’s verdict: 3/5

3 penguin rating

3 Comments Add yours

  1. ggstratton says:

    Love the uneven edges. Gives it character 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. flandriaman says:

      Hehe, thank you. I suppose that’s a better way of looking at it! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

